Me, an author – How writing happened to me

So, here is a story about how writing happened to me. I just wandered. Here it goes…

1

I’d heard about Twitter, I had joined the social network in 2010 but I wasn’t active due to my studies. So when I graduated in 2011, received my Certificate in 2012, I was job hunting. I was introduced to books when I first purchased the first iPad, in 2010. When I first saw a keynote presentation demonstrated by the late genius Steve Jobs. By instinct, I saw great potential to own one, especially at the time of my studies. I was intrigued. Greatly. It’s wasn’t just about being productivity, but that the digital canvas would provide me creativity. Allow me to focus.

As a teenager, I only read books associated with my studies. Never for leisure. Mostly because I never really understood the concept of reading. I know its simple, you read the words. But in fact, I never realised that books, words stimulated mental images.

And so alongside the first generation iPad, iBooks was released at the press conference. I was very keen about iBooks, because this was the time that I could finally come to reading. I knew this much that due to my dyslexia, I wanted to improve my written expression. I was a lot earlier developing my concepts, on paper, and mentally. Like it were films. The problem was,…

Was what I was writing, any good?

There were many ideas that materialised into pages of writing, months of research, watching films to develop a film-like narratives…

but was I really satisfied?

Through books, especially since I greatly admired Stephen King’s works. I was absorbing the material. Mentally. And then, I saw in the minds eye, visuals. Words were forming pictures. These images were flowing like scenes from a film. I’d suddenly tapped into this ability. To project by words a formation of mental pictures. But even then, this didn’t mean I got to grips with written expression. This was during this time that I was developing a concept that was complicated to materialise completely, I’d actually worked on it for far to long than any of my other concepts.

2

And so I took to Twitter in late 2012, I was searching for authors. But mostly, I really needed to understand what Twitter was and how to use. I was being introduced to the social network in this sense, especially with the world. I’d come to understand this much, you read a shared article and you either Favourite it, or Re-tweet it, or both. I was fascinated after using the platform.

This is when I came across three individuals. Authors. Very well established. And here I was, unknown. I wasn’t even published. But I was extremely to approach them. Eventually drop them a Direct Message, with great hesitations. But I was waiting for a response. This took some time, a day or two. By this time, I was interacting with individuals from different backgrounds of creativity, authors, painters. And many that had accepted a friend in me. I’d already developed in my minds eye POD was to be planned as a novella. Nothing written on paper through.

I’d visited a WordPress site when I read a flash fiction, Undertow by established author Dionne Lister. The mental light bulb switched on. Suddenly I realised that I should accept the challenge of writing a micro-fiction, a term that I was introduced to from Dionne’s work. The concept of Pod came to mind, for this, would be my first time experiment to develop a narrative that was structured a micro-fiction. I wrote POD, in two halves, or parts. I’d written it possibly less than a day. But I felt are confident about the writing. There was a strong surge of inspiration from Undertow.

When I did receive a response(s), the first couldn’t come to accept to read POD. The third, suggested me links to send #POD to editors. When in fact, I needed to see what it was I was going wrong, or not understanding. I was confident with the kind of material I had visualised but the problem was written expression. If it made any sense.

And that was when I received a DM by the second author, this was by Dionne Lister. It changed everything for me. She’d asked what I wanted to learn from her. I’d asked if I could send via email, POD for her to read. She had asked if it was for a feedback to which I yes. I’d explained that I had DM two other authors but neither could accept to read POD. And that I really wanted a sense of direction in writing expression. That what I had written made sense.

Dionne agreed.

And after an email, she had provided great editing improvements for the first draft of Pod. She’d had attached annotations, and with red marks, from who I could see and understand what made sense. This was also I was introduced to the role of an editor.

It not changed everything for me, but also, deeply, surprised me. I was humbled. Because I wasn’t published. But that she accepted to help me to understand. It is because of this change, that I would progress successfully as a writer, even if I wasn’t published. I had the ideas, the imagination. I’ve still kept that PDF with Dionne Lister’s edits on my iPad, on iBooks, always.

It’s a reminder.

It’s not about being famous or published, or not. It’s about using the social network to help many others like myself who continue to struggle. I will always be grateful to Dionne for her time and guidance. For being such a wonderful mentor and dear friend.

This is my acknowledgement and gratitude towards her.

3

. . .

Dionne Lister is the author of the bestseller epic-fantasy series Shadows of The Realm. Close Call: A Doris & Jemma Vadgeventure. Dark Spaces, a collection of suspenseful short stories. Her flash fictions are also available to read on her site. She is also an editor. Almost completing her Associate Degree of Creative writing at Southern Cross University.

Her bestsellers are available at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo and iTunes.
Booktastik is her brainchild, which is aim or designed with authors, publishers and readers in mind.

Leave a Reply

