Reaching out – UPDATE

Storehouse for iPad & ReadWave

I highly enjoyed participating for Storehouse as a beta-tester and also sharing many of my short fictions, as I was intrigued by this new platform—a new way of telling stories. Especially through forms of pictures and text. Up until this, I really didn’t have a website, because I’ve not been able to understand and construct one. And, so I felt, I really needed a medium to express my stories. By doing so, I would eventually be introduced to an audience. This is where Storehouse came in. When I saw it first launched on the App Store in 2013, I was overcome with intrigue. Especially the UI—it was fantastic. So I found myself confident to experiment with this format. I wanted to utilise this for writing. Did it work…?

At first, I didn’t receive much response. But this was due to being introduced to a new kind of community of blogger— photographers who documented their travelling stories. They were using it to perfect effect. They were creating beautiful stories. Beautifully presented. Which is thanks to the highly commendable effort and design of Storehouse.

I was new to this kind of content-creating community. But that didn’t dishearten me. I went ahead and began uploading many of my short stories, sharing them widely, anxiously.

I did try Medium, but, again, this was a very different type of audience. I did get my work noticed, but I saw a lot of potential with Storehouse, as there was something very distinct about it. This is one of the reasons why I enjoy Storehouse. Sharing links to Facebook and tweeting to my dear Tweeps was fantastic. I felt like I might be spamming at the rate I was tweeting out like crazy. But I was excited to share my work. And that’s when it happened….

I was suddenly receiving great praise in the form of tweet-reviews for my short experimental horror, WHEN THE BLIND MAN SPOKE. I was being highly praised for the structure of the narrative and also for my writing abilities. To the extent that the fiction crossed 500 views in a very short length of time. Storehouse had also congratulated me on Twitter. Bestsellers and award-winning authors had tremendously praised it. It was overwhelming. I was even informed that it could be extended into a larger piece of work when one friend suggested the narrative had potential to be explored as an opening scene. And so, as a token of appreciation, I wrote an opening scene. This was my extended version of the original.

I also realised something else from this: what if I reached out to other platforms similar to Storehouse? In this way, many other readers would be able to enjoy my work and share this experience. This is where I ventured out onto ReadWave.

. . .

What is ReadWave? It’s a platform to share short stories. A platform that may seem like Medium, but it’s not. They define it as:

A ReadWave can be about anything — a confession, an experience, an inspiration, a life-changing decision or even something fictional.

So, here I was, uploading all of my short stories, expecting something from it. It would either work, or my narratives would go unnoticed. It couldn’t be both, right… It took me by surprise when my readers base escalated in a matter of days. I was suddenly obtaining 100 readers in a single day. Something had strongly clicked! I was so glad and extremely humbled by the gigantic response. It was unlike anything I had ever experienced in my life. There was a momentum of readers, who were reading, favouriting, commenting, and even emailing, asking me to become an editor for their theme, on six occasions. But I couldn’t participate as I was receiving Hepatitis B immunisation jabs. But also, I was participating in the fasting period of Ramadan.

In a matter of days, I found myself at 1000+ readers. This was emotional and astonishing. My short fictions were being read fifty times—at least six short fictions had been trending on ReadWave categories. About three had also been read fifty times in the United States. The power of wireless connection. My fictions were suddenly travelling places digitally, beyond my physical reach. I had never imagined this would ever happen.

I am deeply humbled by this kind gesture from my readers and also grateful for the powerful platforms such as Storehouse and ReadWave—without them, this couldn’t have been possible. These platforms are truly prefect for emerging writers, bloggers, and time-traveling photographers. And also my WordPress bloggers, for accepting me and my work when I was just starting out for the first time.

I am truly and deeply thankful to each one of you for making this happen. Developers, readers, editors; every single one of you. Thank you so much. It has been a fantastic journey.

. . .

I would also like to add, I am currently working on a new short fiction set in space. Something that may seem across 2001: A SPACE ODYSSEY & GRAVITY. The second season in the SOLAR-POWERED ENITY series is to be released early 2015, possibly with this new story following later in the year. It’s a space narrative that looks at human interaction, music & film culture, and the digital age of social media through conversations with an alien life form in space. References include soundtracks from Coldplay’s GHOST STORIES. I also have two concepts slowly developing in my mind; again possibly for next year.

. . .

Post edited by my dear and wonderful friend/mentor, Dionne Lister.
Always grateful to her.

. . .

UPDATE: This post has been read fifty times now, also been read fifty times in the United States. And is now trending on ReadWave.

I have yet to explore Medium. #Cocoon, my space concept is 95% complete. Began work on a shorter fiction now dubbed as #BeamDeer. And have something that is dubbed as #RadioMandela.

Leave a Reply

