Gallery

The Lens Inside

Intriguing. ^^

static

“I don’t take photographs outside.” This, the most revealing answer of my interview with French photographer and inmate, Ralph. His black and white photos are raw, beautiful, and oddly the most pure depictions that I’ve ever seen. Free from pretense, judgement, and opportunistic voyeurism.

*Why did you initially start taking photographs inside of prison?

Ralph: First, for distraction then as challenge and over time it has become witness.

*Why black and white?

Ralph: Because there is no color.

*Who or what is your most interesting subjects?

Ralph: I love the “dirty faces”. I love the faces that tell a story. Faces sweaty and suffering, that’s my favorite subject.

*Have you taken any photographs outside of prison?

Ralph: I never take pictures outside.

*Is photography a distraction or a reminder of where you are?

Ralph: I’ve frequented the prison for more than 25 years. This is a very big part of…

View original post 81 more words

Leave a Reply

